April 15, 2021
8:30am HST / 11:30am PST / 1:30pm CST / 2:30pm EST (90m)

Female genital mutilation or cutting (FGM/C) is a reality for many women and girls across different communities in the United States. Yet, for centuries, FGM/C has remained a hidden tradition. It’s often practiced by women to women, and girls are raised to believe they must remain silent about what they underwent. Silence is an endemic or inherent part of this type of gender violence that can lead to lifelong physical and emotional health consequences. At the core of providing better prevention, protection, health and social support services for women and girls is stronger data, enhanced research, and community engagement. Join Sahiyo, the Asian-Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence, and the U.S. End FGM/C Network for an exploration of FGM/C, its connection to gender-based violence, and how COVID-19 has impacted the movement to abandon FGM/C in the US.