News and Events

Provide input by February 28, 2019

We Are Seeking Input on Language Access Toolkit

Our Interpretation Training and Technical Assistance Resource Center (ITARC) is developing a toolkit for Technical Assistance Providers to improve and ensure meaningful access to limited English proficient (LEP) victims when seeking safety, justice, and healing. Our goal is to include in this toolkit the most relevant information that can support you in your undertakings to comply with the Federal language access mandate, integrate it into your organizational planning and implementation, and as include it in your technical assistance to other grantees.

For this reason, we are extending an invitation to send any feedback or input regarding: topics you want to see in the document; questions you have; challenges you might be confronting, or successful practices you have implemented to improve language access. We’ll be gathering your suggestions throughout February.

Submit input!

January 31, 2019 | 7:00 – 8:30 am HT | 10:00 – 11:30 am PT | 12:00 – 1:30 pm CT | 1:00 – 2:30 pm ET

Webinar: Policy Update: The Latest on Asylum for Survivors of Violence

Please join us for a webinar about asylum for survivors of violence hosted by the Alliance for Immigrant Survivors (AIS). This webinar will focus on recent policy changes that impact how we serve gender-based violence survivors who may be eligible for asylum protection. Note: this is not an asylum 101 training but an opportunity to hear more about the impact on survivors of critical legal decisions, procedural changes, and new policies such as the asylum ban.

This webinar will be hosted by AIS with presenters from the Tahirih Justice Center and the Center for Gender and Refugee Studies.

Register now!

National Conference | March 20-21, 2019 in Alexandria, VA | Regular registration ends March 13, 2019

Registration Open for Grounding & Growing: Tools for a Powerful Anti-Trafficking Movement

The landscape of anti-trafficking work continues to shift. Advocates, law enforcement, survivors, prosecutors, and allies are navigating volatile and harmful policy changes while trying to provide effective services to survivors and bring human traffickers to justice. This reactionary environment has left little time to build core skills and has created new tensions along old fault lines. It has also fortified the resolve of anti-trafficking stakeholders committed to a rights-based approach and created new opportunities for collaboration. While traffickers continue to exploit those made vulnerable, and systemic barriers continue to impede progress, professionals must maintain focus, develop new strategies to protect victims, and sharpen the fundamental skills necessary for this work.

Freedom Network USA remains committed to ensuring all survivors of human trafficking have access to justice, safety and opportunity. Join FNUSA for the unique opportunity to grow your professional skill-set and ground your work in the collective goal of ending human trafficking.

Register now

 

NEW: Trafficking Resource Library from Freedom Network, USA

The Freedom Network Training Institute’s Resource Library is the premier resource for professionals in the human trafficking field. The Resource Library includes factsheets, promising practices, practical tools, and training materials developed by subject matter experts with direct experience working with survivors.

Browse resources

January 2019

Human Trafficking Awareness Month

Human trafficking is often dramatized in popular media — a young, pretty girl is violently kidnapped by a stranger and then locked in a room for the majority of her captivity. In reality, there are complex factors involved in the recruitment of victims, including manipulation, trickery, coercion, and threat. Victims can come from all walks of life, race, gender, socio-economic status, or age, but traffickers most frequently prey on those in poverty, who are fleeing familial or societal violence, who face discrimination, or who are otherwise vulnerable. Traffickers are not always unknown assailants, but can be a family member, husband, or boyfriend; and victims face both push and pull factors that influence their ability to leave.

More information & resources on trafficking

Reflections on the Last Year and a Warm Welcome to 2019!

2018 was a year in which women, LGBTQ, and other survivors were yet again emboldened to speak their truths; and call out misogyny, patriarchy, homophobia, and transphobia.

2018 was a year when young leaders stepped onto the national stage, commanding six minutes of silence to expose the raw pain of their fearful realities; and galvanized a movement.

2018 was a year for nimble strategies in safety planning to mitigate new and unexpected barriers for immigrant and refugee survivors and their children and families.

2019 will be a year for re-dedicating ourselves to advocacy, organizing, and structural change so survivors, families, and communities can heal, love, laugh, and smile a lot.

Today, we are smiling back on every new connection we made and each old bond we renewed in 2018. Above all, none of what we accomplished could have been done without your inspiring friendship, collaboration, support, and solidarity. We wish you all a Happy New Year, and look forward to strengthening our connections in 2019.

2018 Highlights

Committed to ensuring equal access for survivors? Join our team!

Three positions are currently open:

  1. Senior Program Associate | Enhancing Access for Crime Victims – Deadline December 10, 2018
  2. Program Coordinator | Improving Language Access in the Courts – Deadline December 10, 2018
  3. Director of Finance and Administration – Deadline December 14, 2018 or until filled

November 25 – December 10, 2018 

#16Days of activism to end Gender-Based Violence

From the International Day to Eliminate Violence Against Women (Nov. 25) until Human Rights Day (Dec. 10), we will be drawing attention to 16 types of gender-violence affecting Asian and Pacific Islander communities. We hope you will join us in posting these shareables to your networks or following along on Twitter @apigbv, Facebook.com/apigbv.

Deadline extended until January 31, 2019

Seeking Asian Immigrant/Refugee Women to Participate in Risk Factors & Domestic Violence Homicide Prevention Study!

Out of 600 immigrant and refugee women who have participated in the study so far, only 35 are Asian. This is an urgent request to reach 100 Asian women in one month to participate in the weWomen study designed by Dr. Jackie Campbell and her team. The Institute has partnered with them as they planned and developed their danger assessment to be culturally-sensitive. The more information they collect from survivors in our community, the more data we can all have about culturally-specific risk factors and how best to meet the safety needs of Asian survivors. Participants will be compensated for their time.

Learn more & invite someone to participate!

Older Events

Week of October 22-26, 2018 

#SHARESUPPORT4DVAM: A FACEBOOK AND TWITTER SHARE-OUT FOR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AWARENESS MONTH 2018

This Domestic Violence Awareness Month, we ask, “What is #1Thing you wish to say to support and advocate, activist, or ally dedicated to ending domestic violence?” Join us in offering words of support and gratitude for domestic violence activists by sharing your messages on Twitter of Facebook, tagging us @apigbv and using the hashtags #ShareSupport4DVAM and #DVAM2018!

Print a template

October 26, 2018 | 6:00 – 7:00 am PT | 9:00 – 10:00 am PT | 11:00 – 12:00 pm CT | 12:00 – 1:00 pm ET

Webinar: Why Language Access?

Agencies have an ethical and legal obligation to provide meaningful access to victims and survivors seeking their services. Being prepared to serve and assist limited English proficient (LEP) victims and survivors benefits staff  and promotes help seeking behavior. The Interpretation Technical Assistance Resource Center (ITARC) is the comprehensive TA provider for OVW grantees on language access issues for spoken language.  As we enter the second year of our grant, we would like to discuss 1) Our current TA and training projects;  2) Introduce our new Interpreter Training Coordinator, Ana Paula Noguez Mercado, and 3) Hear what language issues programs are facing.

The webinar will also cover the following topics:

  • A brief introduction into the legal obligations;
  • Bilingual advocacy vs. Interpretation
  • Budgeting Recommendations
  • Future Training Opportunities and ways to request TA

Program staff that work with client and survivors as well as managers in charge of organizational policy should attend. This webinar is open for current OVW grantees and potential OVW grantees.

Register now!

Webinar on October 25, 2018 | 10:00 – 11:30 am HT | 1:00 – 2:30 pm PT | 3:00 – 4:30 pm CT | 4:00 – 5:30 pm ET

Policy Alert: How Will ‘Public Charge’ Proposed Policy Changes Impact Immigrant Survivors?

Published in the Federal Register on October 10, 2018, the proposed regulation expands the definition of “public charge” and puts immigrant families, including children, at risk if they use public programs to escape and recover from  abuse and meet basic needs like food, housing, and healthcare. We have updated our Advisory on how this proposed rule will impact immigrant survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault, who may need important public supports in order to escape and recover from abuse. We are also offering a webinar on October 25 on the impact of the proposed rule and how you can take action.

This webinar has ended. Please download our Advisory and subscribe to our listserv for info on future events

October 25, 2018
7:00 – 8:00 am HT| 10:00 – 11:00 am PT | 12:00 – 1:00 pm CT | 1:00 – 2:00 pm ET

Webinar Series: Cultural Responsiveness To Improve Domestic Violence Services

One episode left! Join us in a free Spanish-language webinar series, co-organized by API-GBV and six other culturally-specific organizations, that explores the importance of language access and cultural sensitivity in domestic and sexual violence service agencies. See the flyers to learn more and register

English / Español

October 19, 2018 | 6:30 – 8:30 pm PT | Oakland, CA

Sahiyo Stories Screening on Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting

Join survivors and advocates addressing violence against women to learn about the practice of female genital mutilation/cutting, to hear about prevention strategies in the U.S., and to be amazed by the resilience and hope that survivor-advocates draw on in themselves and each other. Be part of a critical mass of voices, especially from within FGM/C-practicing communities, that is calling for an end to this harmful practice.

Learn more & RSVP!

October 16, 2018 | 9:00 – 10:30 am HT | 12:00 – 1:30 pm PT | 2:00 – 3:30 pm CT | 3:00 – 4:30 pm ET

Webinar: Evidence-Informed Practices to Serve Asian and Pacific Islander Survivors of Domestic Violence

To address the domestic violence dynamics and trends in Asian and Pacific Islander (API) communities, advocates have designed programs based on an intimate knowledge of their communities and the needs of API survivors. This webinar will identify the differing dynamics and current domestic violence trends API immigrant and refugee survivors are facing.  It will describe the A-Z Advocacy Model’s inventory of evidence-informed practices and the foundational principles that anchor this unique model.

This event has ended. Click here to download webinar slides & watch recording

August 5-7, 2018 | Los Angeles, CA

Asian Pacific Islander Agents of Change: Disrupting Gender Violence | Defining Gender Democracy

Thank you for lending your energy, experience, and expertise to our National Summit! We were honored to host a gathering of over 225 advocates, activists, and allies, representing nearly 100 organizations (including over 79 culturally-specific API agencies), from over 30 states and territories. Plenary and workshop topics included historical trauma affecting Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders, culturally-specific services for Muslim survivors, safety planning for immigrant victims, trafficking, social messaging for impact, organizational sustainability, housing and economic security, community-based research, LGBTQ intimate partner homicide risk factors, sexual violence, and building a movement against abusive international marriages.

We were energized by the tremendous work advocates are doing to provide support for survivors of violence, and we are looking forward to collaborating with you on forthcoming projects!

Click here for a snapshot of the event, to download materials and slides, and to see the graphic report