November 7, 9am HST/12pm PST/2pm CST/3pm EST

In our work, we recognize that cultural-responsiveness and trauma-informedness are not end goals, but a continuous process of learning and adapting our advocacy to best meet the layered and changing needs of survivors. We also know that these practices don’t end at advocate-client interactions, but must encompass all aspects of an organization, from to staff and Board wellness to physical space.  

This conversation with Mona Kafeel from Texas Muslim Women’s Foundation looked at creating a model for strengths-based advocacy grounded on and understanding of individual, vicarious, generational, and collective trauma. Mona discussed how the Trauma-Informed Care Assessment Tool, the Survivor Well-Being Questionnaire, and other practical tools developed by TMWF can be used to assess your organization for gaps in trauma-informedness and to identify better organizational policies.

We strongly suggested that participants review the report, From the Roots of Trauma to the Flowering of Trauma-Informed Care, and especially the evaluation tools and implementation plan contained within the appendix, prior to joining the webinar.

Related Resources

Building AAPI Collective Power to End GBV

Building AAPI Collective Power to End GBV

March 7, 8am HST/11am PST/1pm CST/2pm ESTAsians, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) are often left out of conversations around diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB) in the U.S. Often lumped together as a “model minority,” certain AAPI groups...

2024 API-GBV National Summit: Growing From Our Roots

2024 API-GBV National Summit: Growing From Our Roots

Latest Update: Early Bird Registration Open Now Through June 1!See all available API-GBV National Summit information below:This page will continue to be updated as more information is released. For any technical issues or additional questions, please contact our team...

Hosted by API-GBV featuring Mona Kafeel from Texas Muslim Women’s Foundation

November 2023

Share this: