April 23, 8am HST/11am PST/1pm CST/2pm EST

On April 23rd, API-GBV will be partnering with Sahiyo U.S. for Critical Intersections of FGM/C: The Value of Intersectionailty in Cross-Collaboration, a presentation of Sahiyo’s Mixed Methods Report as part of the survivor and activist-led Critical Intersections Research Project. This project examines the issue of female genital mutilation/cutting (FGM/C) through an intersectional lens, with the goal of understanding both challenges that FGM/C survivors and activists face, as well as opportunities for cross-sector collaboration with other social justice movements. The report includes qualitative and quantitative data from over 100 individuals and organizations working within and beyond the FGM/C sphere. In hopes of facilitating meaningful discussion around collaboration and intersectional programming, this presentation will focus heavily on challenges and opportunities to collaborative projects, with plenty of time for feedback and weigh in from the audience; turning data into action is our goal. Furthermore, as Sahiyo continues its exploration on this topic, we hope to expand our understanding with the insights of activists, frontline professionals, and more from across the board. Join the conversation!

Please email Sahiyo’s Research Coordinator rachel@sahiyo.org with any questions.

Related Resources

Building AAPI Collective Power to End GBV

Building AAPI Collective Power to End GBV

March 7, 8am HST/11am PST/1pm CST/2pm ESTAsians, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) are often left out of conversations around diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB) in the U.S. Often lumped together as a “model minority,” certain AAPI groups...

2024 APi-GBV National Summit: Growing From Our Roots

2024 APi-GBV National Summit: Growing From Our Roots

Latest Update: Early Bird Registration Open Now Through June 1!See all available API-GBV National Summit information below:This page will continue to be updated as more information is released. For any technical issues or additional questions, please contact our team...

AAPI LGBTQ+ Experiences of GBV

AAPI LGBTQ+ Experiences of GBV

This factsheet summarizes the layered needs and experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and more (LGBTQ+) Asian, Asian American, and Pacific Islander (AAPI) survivors and communities in the U.S., based on the current literature available. Although...

Exploring the Cultural Contexts of Consent in AANHPI Communities

Exploring the Cultural Contexts of Consent in AANHPI Communities

AANHPI communities tend to be collective in nature, as well as hierarchical, to varying degrees. Both contexts complicate the concepts of consent and boundaries, especially for AANHPI youth and young adults, who often do not have opportunities to learn about the taboo...

Share this: