Jan 28, 2020 | 10:00 – 11:30 am PST / 12:00 – 1:30 pm CST / 1:00 – 2:30 pm EST

Immigrant survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault often face unique challenges and additional barriers to accessing and maintaining safe housing. Since the enactment of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) in 1994, VAWA has always included vital protections for immigrant survivors, recognizing that abusers often use their victims’ dependent or unauthorized immigration status as a tool of abuse. Attendees of this webinar will learn how to identify and help immigrant survivors navigate challenges when seeking services and safety, as well as focus on strengths-based and trauma-informed advocacy for immigrant survivors. Additionally, presenters will discuss the impact of potential policy changes, such as the HUD mixed status rule or the public charge rule, and provide additional resources and information.

Register now

Presented by:

  • Teresa Burns, Casa de Esperanza: National Latin@ Network for Healthy Families and Communities
  • Rosie Hidalgo, J.D., Casa de Esperanza: National Latin@ Network for Healthy Families and Communities
  • Grace Huang, J.D., Asian Pacific Institute on Gender Based Violence

With Support from the National Alliance for Safe Housing

Intended audience: Domestic and/or sexual violence organizations, and homeless/housing organizations