May 25, 2022
10am HST / 12pm PST / 2pm CST / 3pm EST (1.5hr)

The creative process of ritual through our own body is the key word. Our embodied and mindful practice will bring the source and resources to explore and examine individual roots and cultural elements that we were longing for to reconnect. We reclaim our cultural and ancestral dignity and resilience from the colonial system of oppression. We reclaim our matriarchal beliefs into collective creative healing and spiritual activism once our ancestors did for the ceremonies and rituals. 

About the facilitator:

Dohee Lee, a performance artist, ritualist, and educator was born on Jeju Island in South Korea. Her creative vision comes from traditional Korean music, singing, drumming and dance which is rooted in Korean indigenous ritual. Since her arrival in the US she has been a vital contributor to both the traditional and contemporary arts landscape of the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. She utilizes art to heal fractured relationships in the urban environment – relationships between humans and the land, histories and stories between individuals and their communities. She is the founder of Puri Arts, a producing organization of performance and ritual. Her work has been acknowledged by several awards, such as Guggenheim Fellowship, Hewlett 50 Arts Commission, Creative Work Foundation, Herb Alpert Award, Doris Duke Impact Award, Creative Capital, Kenneth Rainin Foundation, Isadora Duncun Dance Award, Zellerbach Family foundation and more.

www.doheelee.com