May 30, 2024, 7am HST/10am PST/12pm CST/1pm EST

In Asian/Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities, food is more than just fuel. It gathers people, bridges generations, empowers community, and teaches culture. Incorporating food that is culturally significant into programming can also help communities and people impacted by violence heal from trauma. However, many AAPI people are left without access to ingredients and dishes that hold meaning for them. How can we, as agents in the movement to end violence, harness the incredible power of food to drive the change we are creating in our communities?

As we close out APAHM, we hope that you will join us in this dialogue with three movement leaders from Banteay Srei, UTOPIA Washington, and Food4Good, who are incorporating food in innovate ways: cooking classes that bridge intergenerational communities, a farming program that sustains Indigenous traditions, and a catering business that builds economic security for refugees. We also hope to hear from participants about the inspiring ways they are honoring AAPI communities and survivors through celebration of food. Please feel free to enjoy your favorite dish or beverage during this virtual event!

Related Resources

Building AAPI Collective Power to End GBV

Building AAPI Collective Power to End GBV

March 7, 8am HST/11am PST/1pm CST/2pm ESTAsians, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) are often left out of conversations around diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB) in the U.S. Often lumped together as a “model minority,” certain AAPI groups...

2024 API-GBV National Summit: Growing From Our Roots

2024 API-GBV National Summit: Growing From Our Roots

Latest Update: Early Bird Registration Open Now Through June 1!See all available API-GBV National Summit information below:This page will continue to be updated as more information is released. For any technical issues or additional questions, please contact our team...

Share this: